Trade Commissioner Service the 2015 Recipient of the James C. Floyd Award for Aerospace Achievement

November 18, 2015

Ottawa (Ontario), November 18, 2015 – The Canadian Trade Commissioner Service (TCS) has been awarded the James C. Floyd Award by the Aerospace Industries Association of Canada (AIAC) for their important contributions to the promotion of Canadian aerospace interests in the global marketplace.

“The Trade Commissioner Service has proven to be a vital partner to the Canadian aerospace industry, helping companies to make the connections that they need to gain access to and do business in markets around the world,” said Jim Quick, President and CEO of the Aerospace Industries Association of Canada. “Through their active participation in domestic and international trade shows, their support in coordinating aerospace industry trade missions for companies and industry delegations, and their partnership through initiatives such as embedding a Trade Commissioner in AIAC’s offices, the TCS has directly and significantly supported the growth of Canadian aerospace both at home and around the world.”

This is the first time that the Award, which recognizes exceptional contributions to the Canadian aerospace industry, has been given to a government entity. The Trade Commissioner Service is an arm of Global Affairs Canada (GAC). Ms. Susan Bincoletto, Chief Trade Commissioner and Assistant Deputy Minister, International Business Development, Investment and Innovation, accepted the award on behalf of the TCS at a ceremony held during the Annual Aerospace Dinner and Canadian Aerospace Summit on November 17, 2015.

About the Trade Commissioner Service (link to TCS website)

The James C. Floyd Award

Established in 2009 in honour of the chief engineer on the Avro Arrow project, AIAC’s James C. Floyd Award for aerospace achievement is an annual award that honours exceptional contributions to the Canadian aerospace sector. Presented during the Canadian Aerospace Dinner, which is held at the annual Canadian Aerospace Summit, the James C. Floyd Award is given to visionary individuals or teams whose contributions have made a difference in the industry.

This year’s James C. Floyd award is sponsored by Pratt & Whitney Canada. The AIAC would like to thank Pratt & Whitney Canada and its President John Saabas for supporting this prestigious award.

James C. Floyd

James C. Floyd is one the great figures in Canada’s aviation history. As chief designer for Avro Canada, Mr. Floyd played a central role in the development of some of the greatest planes ever produced in Canada – including the C102 Jetliner, the CF 100 fighter and the Avro Arrow. Members of his design and engineering team later played key roles in America’s Apollo project to put a man on the Moon.

After the cancellation of the Avro Arrow project, Mr. Floyd established his own international aviation consulting company and made contributions to a number of state-of-the-art projects around the world.

In 1950, Mr. Floyd became the first non-American recipient of the Wright Bros. Medal for his work on jet transport technology, specifically the design of the Avro Canada Jetliner, the world’s first regional jet passenger aircraft. He was consultant to the British Ministry of Technology on the Concorde project from 1965 to 1972.

Mr. Floyd was inducted into Canada’s Aviation Hall of Fame in 1993.

AIAC is the national association representing Canada’s aerospace manufacturing and services sector. As the world’s fifth-largest aerospace industry, Canada’s aerospace sector contributes over $29B to the economy in GDP, exports 80% of its output, and dedicates over 20% of its activity to research and development (R&D). Aerospace is responsible for the employment of 180,000 Canadians.


For information:
Kristen VanderHoek, Director of Communications
Aerospace Industries Association of Canada
613 232-4297 x225,