James C. Floyd Award

The James C. Floyd Award is an annual award that recognizes an individual or team that has made an exceptional contribution to Canada’s aerospace industry.


The James C. Floyd Award acknowledges individuals or a team that has made an outstanding contribution to the Canadian aerospace industry. This contribution may be a technological, political, entrepreneurial, research-based, policy-based or student accomplishment, of which the significance and impact warrants an exceptional level of recognition.


Any individual or team from an AIAC member company, Canadian university, college or research institution, or government department may be nominated for this award. Nominees of all ages and experience levels — including students and individuals that have recently entered the workforce — will be considered.

Nomination Requirements

Nominees must demonstrate at least one of the following achievements:

  • The successful completion of a program or research project that has had a significant, positive impact on the Canadian aerospace industry within the last five years
  • An outstanding act, effort, contribution or demonstration of service to the Canadian aerospace industry that has occurred within the last five years

Additional factors that may be considered include the nominee’s initiative, perseverance, creative problem-solving skills, contribution to the public perception of the industry at home and abroad, creation of partnerships, involvement in the broader aerospace community, and the nominee’s people management and leadership abilities.


Submissions are currently closed.

Applications must include:

  • Name of Nominee; Nominee Organization; Nominee Bio information
  • A minimum of two letters of support, in either official language, from an employee of an AIAC member company, Canadian university, college or research institution. These letters should not exceed one page in length and should reinforce or expand upon the summary of achievement. The letters should be submitted with the rest of the nomination documentation.
  • A comprehensive narrative (between 500 and 2,000 words) in either official language, describing in non-technical terms the nature of the achievement and the extent of its benefit, significance and effects. This narrative should focus on those attributes of the nominee that were especially instrumental in contributing to the successful outcome of the activity/achievement in question.


The James C. Floyd Award is presented annually at the Annual Aerospace Dinner, which takes place during the Canadian Aerospace Summit. This event gathers attendees from all segments of the Canadian aerospace industry, other leading aerospace nations, various levels of government, the financial and investment community, and international and trade press.

This year’s Summit is November 8-9, 2022 at the Shaw Centre in Ottawa, Ontario, Canada.

Full details at: www.aerospacesummit.ca


Tracy Medve, President & CEO, KF Aerospace

Medve was born in Prince Albert, Saskatchewan and has dedicated over 37 years to the Canadian aviation industry. Using her professional background in law and business administration, she has served in various airline executive positions throughout her career, including Norcanair, Time Air, Canadian Partner and Canadian Regional Airlines, Canadian North, and the last 10 years in her current role as President and CEO of KF Aerospace—Canada’s largest commercial aircraft maintenance and engineering provider, an air operator, aircraft leasing company, and military pilot training provider to the Royal Canadian Air Force.

Medve is the first female Honorary Life Member of the Air Transportation Association of Canada (ATAC), and an active proponent of increasing the number of women in aviation careers. She has served as a member of the Northern Air Transport Association and the UBCO External Advisory Board and is currently a member of the Transportation Appeal Tribunal of Canada and Chair of the FortisBC Board of Directors.


  • Wagdi Habashi (2010)
  • Maurice Guitton (2011)
  • Hany Moustapha (2012)
  • Marinvent Corporation (2013)
  • Ronald Holdway and Dave Caddey (2014)
  • The Canadian Trade Commissioner Service (2015)
  • Rob Dewar and the CSeries Aircraft Program Team (2016)
  • Benoit Beaudoin and the Pratt & Whitney Canada Operations Team (2017)
  • Viking Air Ltd. (2018)
  • Marc Parent (2019)


James C. Floyd is one of the great figures in Canada’s aviation history. As chief designer for Avro Canada, Mr. Floyd played a central role in the development of some of the greatest planes ever produced in Canada, including the C-102 Jetliner, the CF-100 fighter and the Avro Arrow. Members of his design and engineering team later played key roles in America’s Apollo project to put a man on the Moon.

After the cancellation of the Avro Arrow project, Mr. Floyd established his own international aviation consulting company and made contributions to a number of state-of-the-art projects around the world.

In 1950, Mr. Floyd became the first non-American recipient of the Wright Bros. Medal for his work on jet transport technology, specifically the design of the Avro Canada Jetliner, the world’s first regional jet passenger aircraft. He was consultant to the British Ministry of Technology on the Concorde project from 1965 to 1972.

Mr. Floyd was inducted into Canada’s Aviation Hall of Fame in 1993.